Two types of writers

I believe there are two extreme types of writers. I do not have the courage to be the one extreme, and I am not a liar, so like most, I swing back and forth between the middle.
On one hand there is the obsessive, insane writer. He just doesn’t stop. He blogs, he writes promos, he’s published six books on dog care and three on presidential biographies, two sci-fi novels and has self-published two mystery novels. He will talk incessantly about himself, his books and his achievements. He’s always selling, pitching and promoting.
Then there’s the liar. He has a few scribbles on his desk. He talks about his many projects, (usually screenplays) and his impending deals. He’s come to the conclusion that it’s easier to lie about writing than to write.
Me, I write a dozen hours a week, talk to my kids, feed the dogs and blog. I work on websites, think about cleaning the garage and am working on two books, hoping I will sell them.
But that’s where most of us live. And that’s why writers continue to write. Because they are not lying about writing and they aren’t that crazy to dedicate their entire waking minutes to their writing, we’re just moderately insane.

About 3by3 writing method

The author of 12 books, half of them textbooks, two novels and three self help. has struggled with his challenges of completion, distractions, plotting and writers block. Finally after getting stopped I stopped and analyzed what was going on and spent a lot of introspection, research and reading trying to locate the source of these issues. The result of was the 3by3 writing method - a three step program to start and then continue the process of completing a story all the way to publication.
This entry was posted in The 3by3 writing method and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two types of writers

  1. I’m like you. I have to take a break and reflect on things, but often write in my head as I daydream or sleep, then go jot it down. To paraphrase an old music saying, “Writing is not a matter of life and death; it’s a whole lot more important than that.”

    Dr. Tom Bibey, author, “The Mandolin Case.”

    • Even though my handwriting is really bad, I always carry one of those tiny notebooks and a mechanical pencil to capture those random ideas. Unfortunately, I have come to realize a lot of those ideas… are not so hot.

  2. It never occurred to me that anyone would lie about writing? To what end? I too carry/keep a small journal beside me at all times. Even beside my bed for the ever flowing night time mind wanders. You just never know.

Leave a comment