It’s hard to write in Siberia

I failed. I proclaimed in the 3by3 writing method you had to write every day at the same time same place. But I couldn’t do it. The cold Santa Ana winds swooped down on my home, ripped my gutter from my roof then proceeded to slam it against the side of the house irregularly throughout the entire night. Then it mercilessly cut off my electricity. Even though I had my 550 watt gas generator, it was not hooked up to my heater, so for days I huddled in the frigid air.
Yes, I could have gone to a coffee shop and grabbed some WiFi, but there have been a rash of robberies in my neighborhood, (one I just found out, hours before the storm). I could have written without heat, WiFi, and night light, but I was distracted. I was cold, playing with gas cans, running extension cords throughout my house and blocking windows from allowing generator fumes from entering my cold domain.
I could have visited a friend, gone to a bar, written on my new iPad (which is a challenge in itself) I could have done a hundred of things… but I didn’t, and my blog viewings dropped like the temperature in my kitchen. Now the viewings are at freezing (centigrade of course)
But, time heals all wounds and apparently most electrical systems. I now have heat, electricity WiFi, cable and some semblance of sanity.
Luckily, in the recent past I bogged (what a terrible verb… it feels like I have to clean up after I blog) about forgiving yourself for not being perfect. I have now confessed and absolved myself from guilt and will try to regain blogging momentum.
On the bright side, the break allowed me to think about next year’s projects and expectations.
The 3by3 writing method will have its own site, although this blog will continue, and my novel benefited as the break renewed my enthusiasm. I am looking forward to seeing it in print in 2013. How do I know this will happen? Because I follow the 3by3 Writing Method, and using it, I know, not matter what, it will be published. 3by3 guarantees it.
Welcome back 3by3!
Well gee thanks. It was mighty cold back there.

About 3by3 writing method

The author of 12 books, half of them textbooks, two novels and three self help. has struggled with his challenges of completion, distractions, plotting and writers block. Finally after getting stopped I stopped and analyzed what was going on and spent a lot of introspection, research and reading trying to locate the source of these issues. The result of was the 3by3 writing method - a three step program to start and then continue the process of completing a story all the way to publication.
This entry was posted in The 3by3 writing method and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

