wireless keboards and free writing

Taking a break from the 3by3 method (yesterdays’ scary event has stopped me pursuing from posting more on it for the moment – see a previous post about karma)

Here are some toys I use to keep me distracted and enjoying writing on a lap top.

Wireless keyboard and mouse – these allow me to set up the lap top like a desktop.  Even though I have found that I must sit up to write, it is nice to have scalloped keys and a little distance from the screen.

Open office – although I have been forced to switch to ms word to help review my kids writing endeavors, I spent years using the free and easy to use Open office word processor. It allows one to save in a word format.

Wireless box – made this myself.  I have three separate wireless keyboards for various reasons and locations one is small and has a trackball on it. However, all the wireless USB thingys were too cumbersome, so I put them all in a plastic box, with a USB hub, and one USB extension.  Now once i plug the box in, any of the four devices will operate and I don’t have a bunch of wires all over the place.

I’ve already commented on shift F7 the word thesaurus, right click to fix misspelled words, and bookmarking chapters to jump around my text.  And of course Google docs to store my important files.

I have to admit I do like the feel of the Microsoft keyboard and I got it on sale at office depot for twenty bucks.

Okay I’ve even bored myself.

About 3by3 writing method

The author of 12 books, half of them textbooks, two novels and three self help. has struggled with his challenges of completion, distractions, plotting and writers block. Finally after getting stopped I stopped and analyzed what was going on and spent a lot of introspection, research and reading trying to locate the source of these issues. The result of was the 3by3 writing method - a three step program to start and then continue the process of completing a story all the way to publication.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to wireless keboards and free writing

  1. ceciliag says:

    Not boring for me though.. ok a little bit when you were getting techy! But now I need to go and find Google docs. i just store everything in an email to myself.. i am so low tech.. c

Leave a Reply

