The Mid-story story

It never fails. I’m in the middle of a book – the hard part; first draft, working on scenes, creating more conflict, trying not to go back into those first few chapters and make them better, now that I know so much more about my characters and their desires.
Then it hits me – this awesome story idea. It’s absolutely great! Pathos, love, conflict and a very clear plot. Of course the details aren’t worked out, but it’s a wonderful idea. I make notes, I so want to chase after this one. It taunts me, beckons and flirts, but I am committed to this one, so I open a file, make some notes and watch her disappear around the corner.
A week later another one hits. This one is just as good. But I know what’s happening. It’s like being in the middle of a relationship when a beautiful opportunity appears, unencumbered by history or a murky past.
Don’t fall for it. It’s a trick. Because if you fall in love with that story, eight months later, while you are deep in the throes of figuring that one out, another beauty will walk by.
The beginning of a story is full of promise, easy love and the hope that this time, it will be simple, powered by fresh emotion, creativity and enthusiasm. It never is. Just like a serious relationship, the book requires work, commitment and renewed vows.
It’s not a word fling or one night’s ramblings or a summer’s month of abandoned joy.
But I write the idea down… because, sooner or later, I will want to fall in love again.

About 3by3 writing method

The author of 12 books, half of them textbooks, two novels and three self help. has struggled with his challenges of completion, distractions, plotting and writers block. Finally after getting stopped I stopped and analyzed what was going on and spent a lot of introspection, research and reading trying to locate the source of these issues. The result of was the 3by3 writing method - a three step program to start and then continue the process of completing a story all the way to publication.
This entry was posted in The 3by3 writing method and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

