Is writing on a keyboard easier then old school?

I really have no choice. My handwriting has become so bad, I could pass as a doctor just by my signature.
When I was younger I actually designed letterhead, used calligraphic pens and printed notes so crisply they were ready for framing. Forget that now.
I was excited with my electric, then my selectric, a huge sewing machine sized “laptop”, WordStar, word, open office, back to word, and then I wondered if the old school method was was better. I questioned whether the time to carefully consider each word before inclusion was more creative than this cut and paste world.
For one brief moment I thought maybe the ink and wooden pencil process was better. Then I looked at the screen, saw a dozen red underlines. I could read what I typed. I could fix misspelling with a right click. I was not fiddling with a backspace to over-type using a sticky type remover or (OMG) getting “White Out” on my fingers.
Are computers better for writers? Hell yes. What was I thinking?

About 3by3 writing method

The author of 12 books, half of them textbooks, two novels and three self help. has struggled with his challenges of completion, distractions, plotting and writers block. Finally after getting stopped I stopped and analyzed what was going on and spent a lot of introspection, research and reading trying to locate the source of these issues. The result of was the 3by3 writing method - a three step program to start and then continue the process of completing a story all the way to publication.
This entry was posted in The 3by3 writing method and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is writing on a keyboard easier then old school?

  1. corianne says:

    For me, it depends on what I’m writing. If I’m freewriting, or outlining a story, there are too many distractions–It’s easier for me to get in the writer “zone” by sitting in a quiet corner with a notebook and pen. When it comes to actually writing the story, I don’t know what I’d do without a computer. I’m constantly moving paragraphs around or changing who says what, and it would be a huge pain to try and do with a pen and paper.

  2. Most of my thoughts appear in my stream of consciousness just as I’m waking up early in the morning (sometimes at 3:00 a.m. or 4:00 a.m.). I keep a note pad next to my bed and jot down that thought or concept, which I develop in greater detail on the computer later.

    I have no problem writing with pen and paper, although it does become a challenge when attempting to do so in total darkness! Otherwise, it works for me.

    IMO – new technologies make it necessary for us to adapt and change, and they usually facilitate accomplishing a task easier or more efficiently; the key is to utilize it based upon YOUR needs, and not so much making you conform to the technology where it becomes necessary for you to have to completely change who you are or the manner in which you operate.

    Thanks for your post.

    Best,
    Kevin

  3. moses11 says:

    I had a similar conundrum, I couldn’t decide whether I preferred carrying a notepad to write poems or doing it on my phone. I happen to love my handwriting but the convenience of the phone won the battle.

Leave a Reply

