The Rewrite – A path to greatness

First draft is tough. Plotting, conflict, character development and endings all present a daunting challenge.
Now the rewrite. Here is where the real inspiration comes in. It takes courage to cut superfluous and redundant dialogue as the word count shrinks. It takes stepping back an really visualizing that scene. What’s that on the floor? Whose eye twitches and how about that crow sitting on a fence just over a grave.
Smells – hot apple pie mixed with… what is that scent? A torn cuff, an odd cut on her cheek and that warn wind from the south all add to the mood, the character and the reader’s experience.
So often we fall in love with our words, but more likely they trigger our visual of everything that is happening, but on further examination, we see it, but it isn’t always written.
Tucking descriptions between paragraphs, thoughts between dialogue, small actions among the large, rewrites are the path to greatness.

About 3by3 writing method

The author of 12 books, half of them textbooks, two novels and three self help. has struggled with his challenges of completion, distractions, plotting and writers block. Finally after getting stopped I stopped and analyzed what was going on and spent a lot of introspection, research and reading trying to locate the source of these issues. The result of was the 3by3 writing method - a three step program to start and then continue the process of completing a story all the way to publication.
This entry was posted in The 3by3 writing method and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Rewrite – A path to greatness

  1. When I go back to do some editing in one of my story’s, I usually don’t have a problem with deleting something I wrote. If it doesn’t belong, I yank it out. If I don’t feel bad about it then it just proves it was not meant to be there in the first place.
    I end up rewriting a lot of things because I sometimes have trouble putting what I want to say into words. It all makes sense in my head, but when I write it it gets all jumbled up!

    • For the little stuff, yes I’ll throw it out, but with big things like shifting entire chapters, or deleting tens of pages, I’ll save as and increase the version number. That way I can go back and grab ideas, scenes and other stuff to incorporate in the new one

    • If you select “Location” rather than name at the bottom of the bookmark box you don’t have to alphabetize the bookmarks They are ordered … in order

  2. quillwielder says:

    That is so true. I was thinking to myself today while writing my children’s novel that I needed to add in more detail to set the scenes and create a better experience for the reader. Something to do when I do my revising and editing.

    • one of my authors in my critique group is writing a period piece. She uses familiar slogans from the past to evoke images (ivory soap 99% pure) My take is that even in present day stories, familiar (but not technological) social events can trigger images, probably even more so in children’s pieces. (like dick and Jane, or cafeteria lines in school, gym class, sesame street characters, etc.)

Leave a Reply

